The Urinals of Fullersburg Woods

Fullersburg Woods is a historic recreational area located in Oak Brook, IL

Filed under: Public Facilities

These pictures were sent in by MG. He writes: "Fullersburg Woods opened to the public in 1920 and has a rich history. In the 1930s, a Civilian Conservation Corps camp was built here, and the visitor center and several of the shelters stand as remnants of that period. In subsequent years, the preserve was so heavily used that in 1969 picnicking was restricted, and boating was prohibited because sewage discharges and water runoff from surrounding communities polluted Salt Creek. It was at this time that Fullersburg’s revival began. Dedicated to multiple-use land management, the District implemented plans to restore and preserve the natural surroundings, improve flood control, and provide environmental education. As a result, the creek's water quality has improved, trees and other plant communities are thriving, and a restored prairie adds to the preserve's diversity. Today, Fullersburg Woods is a prime wildlife haven in an urban environment, hosting a variety of woodland wildlife, nesting songbirds, and spring and fall migratory birds"

"This photo is from a pit facility located near Graue Mill. Over a century ago, Frederick Graue put the waters of Salt Creek to work for him in a milling operation. Today, this National Historic Landmark allows visitors to see the mill operate as it did in Graue's day. You can also buy authentic stone ground flour and cornmeal that is processed there"

"This photo is from near the Visitors Center located in the center of the park. Originally this building pictured was the visitors center which included a huge atrium as well as an indoor miniature habitat of the forest. The center was moved to a building by the side of the river."